Witnessing: What do we Say?

Go-p1

In Luke 5:27 Jesus simply says “follow me”. You might think “I can’t go up to someone and say follow me, that’s crazy!” You’re right, we can’t say ‘follow me’. So what do we say?

We say “follow Him”… We say “Follow Jesus”. We present the Gospel message, we present what Christ is doing in or lives, we give reason for the hope that we have (1 Pet. 3:15). Be it through conversation, explaining why you are there, or handing out some sort of tract we present the Gospel message to the people we encounter and fulfill the Great Commandment.

Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (Mat 28:19-20 NIV)

I know that it is not always easy to start a conversation about Jesus. This is something that I used to struggle with, and I still have my moments. I had to resort to more subtle methods! I used to wear funky Christian t-shirts as a tool for spreading the Gospel. For some reason whenever I wore certain shirts someone would say ‘hey, nice shirt’ allowing me to say ‘Thanks! Its a Bible passage that teaches how we should live as servants.’ or whatever the message of the shirt happened to be. And the conversation can go from there. If you open your heart to evangelize God will deliver up opportunities for you to do so.

There are many ways to open up a conversation about the Gospel, you just have to find what works for you. Come up with your way to tell people to “follow Him”

Grace & Peace,

J

But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander. (1Pe 3:15-16 NIV)

5 thoughts on “Witnessing: What do we Say?

  1. Great post. Just had this conversation today actually! I think in the end you just show how the light has brightened your life and depending on where they are in their walk, take it accordingly from there. Resistant vs ready for example. Some folks all you can do is pray for them…others you can flat out ask if they’ve accepted Jesus as their Savior. It’s an interesting process, glad to see this post to get the conversation going about it!

  2. Always be ready to give the reason for the hope you have.
    Be prepared to share Jesus!
    The one thing I have learned is that I only need speak up, plant the seed. The Lord takes it from there.

Leave a Reply

